Beware: President Trump’s Voter Intimidation Scheme

After Tuesday’s debate, I am convinced that President Trump doesn’t believe he can win re-election. So he has switched campaign tactics to intimidate voters from casting ballots in order to shift voter turnout.

This is a two-prong attack. For weeks now, Trump has been casting doubts on the whole process of mail in voting. He even appointed a new Postmaster General to slow down the entire mail delivery system. And he is now talking about not counting ballots that he thinks weren’t cast for him!

On Tuesday, Don Jr. also made clear that the Trump campaign was calling for an army of volunteers to intimidate voters at in person polling places.

So whether voting by mail or in person, President Trump wants you to be fearful that your vote won’t be easy to cast and that it might not be counted.

Don’t you think that an American President should be assuring you that he or she is doing everything possible to count your vote? After all, a fair and free election process is at the heart and soul of democracy!

But No…he is doing just the opposite.

I know first hand how he is intimidating me. Because we are in the midst of a pandemic, I requested a mail in ballot here in Florida. After all, if it is the preferred way for the president, it should be safe enough for me…right!?!

After Tuesday night’s debate, I am rethinking my voting strategy. I may switch to early voting to make sure that my ballot is cast and will be counted on Election Day.

That means risking exposure to Covid-19 at my local polling place. How long will the lines be and how many people might I come into contact with the virus? And is it worth the risk?

President Trump wants me to succumb to fear by casting doubt on my ability to vote safely and to have my vote counted. That’s voter intimidation.

We must not be intimidated to vote! So make a plan that you feel most comfortable about choosing. And then VOTE! Our democracy depends fair and free elections… especially in 2020!

Standard

One thought on “Beware: President Trump’s Voter Intimidation Scheme

Leave a comment